top of page





In the Fall of 2009, two brothers, Cecil Dorsett and Kevin McCraw - from the Texas Council of Alpha Chapter (TCAC) Area IX came together to discuss the need to expand Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. into the northwest area of Houston, home to the energy corridor and the new epicenter of the City. The idea of creating a chapter in the Katy-Cypress Community was also discussed with their close friend Bro. Dr. David Demone Colter from Area X and the decision to approach the Director of Area IX with their proposal was made. These three brothers became the catalyst of what would become the 679th seat of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

January of 2010 marked the green light to proceed with the process of completing the application for a new chapter in the Katy-Cypress area, which was granted. One of the key research objectives during this period was the reclamation of Alpha brothers in this service area.  As the months progressed and the research continued, additional brothers came on board, not only show support but to assist with the completion of the application process. On August 24, 2010, five brothers met at the Houston National Golf Course in Cypress, Texas to hold their first unofficial meeting.  At this meeting, the chapter constitution, meeting location, meeting time, chapter dues and other logistical information was discussed.  From this point on, these five brothers began calling themselves the Katy-Cypress Alphas.

On October 19, 2010, the brothers were joined by five other brothers from the community who heard of the formation of the Katy-Cypress Alphas.  This new interest initiated a third unofficial meeting at the residence of the Area IX director to review the application process.  The process took another several months to complete.  By mid June of 2011 the application was finalized and handed over to the area IX director for his stamp of approval and for delivery to the desk of TCAC district director.  

In July of 2011, Brother William Ealy joined the Katy-Cypress Alphas and was instrumental in moving the application process further along by making the necessary contacts with Senior Leadership; not only the TCAC but in the Southwestern Region. Because of the tenacity of this brother, the application found its way to the desk of the Southwestern Regional Vice President in time for the Winter Board of Directors meeting for Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc in January 2012, which was held at the national headquarters in Baltimore, MD.  

On January 30, 2012, the Katy-Cypress Alphas received correspondence from the National Office that their application was voted on by the Board of Directors and successfully approved; a new charter had been granted. From that day forward the Katy-Cypress Alphas became known as the Sigma Gamma Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.  A formal chartering ceremony coordinated by Bro. Dr. Michael McFrazier was held on April 15, 2012, in Cypress, TX at The Church Without Walls where the 21 Charter Members accepted the official charter from the National Office.

Our Chapter Catalysts

Bro. Cecil Dorsett
Bro. Kevin McCraw
Bro. David Demone Colter, Ed.D

Our Charter Members

Bro. L. Bob Abraham
Bro. Kevin Bussey
Bro. David Demone Colter, Ed.D
Bro. Joe Conley
Bro. Mark Crawford
Bro. Cecil Dorsett
Bro. William Ealy
Bro. Kenneth Epting
Bro. Reginald Fields
Bro. Jeremy Fontenot
Bro. Byron Hunter

Bro. TauGamba Kadhi, Ph.D
Bro. Gabriel Lewis
Bro. Kevin McCraw
Bro. Michael McFrazier, Ed.D
Bro. Sidney McWhite
Bro. Donte Miller
Bro. Wayne Oliver
Bro. James Perry
Bro. Gregory Skannal
Bro. Garland Thompson

bottom of page